You can choose from these options to take your website down:

Note: If you hide pages from your website menu, they will still be accessible via URL links and search engines. If you want those pages to be hidden from search engines, follow these steps.


Disconnect the domain

To disconnect the domain, go to the site Settings Domain and click Disconnect domain.

Note: Once your domain is disconnected from your website template, the domain's DNS records are automatically deleted, too. When you later reconnect the domain, remember to re-add your DNS records (if needed), as some services may not work (e.g., email service). The same happens when deleting a website or unassigning a plan from a website template.


Delete the published website template

If you delete a published website template, it will go offline. However, all of your content will be lost this way, unless you generate a copy of the website template before deleting it:

1. In your Dashboard, click on the three dots button (...) on the website that you wish to unpublish.

2. Duplicate website. You will then have two versions of your website, a published one and an unpublished one.

3. Delete the original (published) website and keep working on the backup copy.

Note: If you delete a website that's connected to a domain, the domain is automatically disconnected and the domain's DNS records are automatically deleted. When you later reconnect the domain, remember to re-add your DNS records (if needed), as some services may not work (e.g., email service).


Additional resources

Did this answer your question?